www.incontinentsupport.org

Support for dealing with incontinence
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Washing procedure
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 12:47 pm 

I have a pretty good system on washing my cloth diapers but i am still learning.
I am follwoing the out line pretty close that is listed on the primer and just wanted to hear what others are doing for their process.
What I do is I have a small storage tub I use as a pail. I put about 5 to 6 inches of water in it with about 3/4 cups of vinegar in the water. As I add wet diapers I will spray each one with some Pine Sol to keep down the smell. Once I get about 5 in the pail I will start the washing process.
I will space them out in the washer and pour in any left over water from the pail and do a prewash. Then when that is done I will reset the washer to a full load and again leave the water level to large load and then I add the soap and PUL covers and start that. Finally when it is done, I will take out the PUL covers and then run the rinse cycle again to get off any left over soap. When all that is done I will hang up the PUL covers, to air dry and throw the diapers in the dryer to dry for about 30 minutes to get MOSTLY dry and if weather allows, I will hang them in the sun to finish drying.
This is working really well for about 4 day time diapers and 1 night time diaper to keep smells away. However, something I am noticing is if I happen to have two night diapers and three day diapers, the night ones seem to have a bit of an odor after they get wet again. I also have a few that are thicker night diapers that this is even worse.
What I am having to experiment with now is working on figuring out The right mix of diaper type and the number to make sure I am getting things as clean as I can.

Has anyone else had to go to these lengths to make sure things stayed clean?

Post subject: Re: Washing procedure
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 7:19 pm