www.incontinentsupport.org

Support for dealing with incontinence
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 7:54 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Changing in public
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:54 am 

Hi all,

Please forgive my potentially dumb question as I'm new to this all.

When you go out and about, how do you deal with nappy pads?
Firstly, how do you carry spares with you without making it obvious or do I have to learn to just not care?
Secondly, where do you change? In a toilet stall in the regular bathrooms or do you use the disabled bathroom? Not every gents toilet has a bin in it and I don't want to have to carry a used wet nappy with me.

So far, I've managed to limit myself to changing either at home or at work (I work on my own). When I've been out, I've changed before going out and when I get home again and it's been fine. But on Friday I have a business trip coming up and I'll be out of the house for around 12 hours+, a bit too long to go without changing.

As I say, sorry for the dumb question. Incontinence has taken me by surprise and I'm having to learn quickly.

Post subject: Re: Changing in public
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 2:10 pm 

Hi Drew!

We all have different solutions, but I carry two changes of diapers, travel size adult wipes, disposal bags, small amount of extra tape, small tube of barrier cream, and latex gloves in either a small backpack or a military style messenger bag. I think the latter is slightly less conspicuous when going into a public restroom. :D For work, a top-opening briefcase is o.k., just make sure that the compartment with your diapers is closed or put the contents inside an opaque plastic bag.

I would not say that I have learned not to care, but, over time, to have it bother me less.