www.incontinentsupport.org

Support for dealing with incontinence
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 6:25 am 

Ok, first I don't know if in this fourm there is a thing of TMI. If I have crossed that I'm sorry. I am new to a Foley catheter and hopefully going to be out of it tomorrow. However, I need some help. At night I get multiple night time errections when this happens my penis is dry and the catheter is dry and it pinches the top. I can alleviate this problem temporally by putting water based lube on it and sliding it in and out of my penis so the lube gets inside. This works for me long enough to go back to sleep but 1-2 hrs later it happens again. Does anyone else have this problem? If so how do you fix it? Thanks for your response.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:53 am 

Not TMI for me. I too used to get this all of the time, and wow what a pain. The problem is that you are using a water based lube. The water gets absorbed and dries out the catheter leaving it even more stick than you started out with. Any slight size change and the catheter will grip and pinch.

You need to use something else, and you need to make sure your catheters are as smooth as possible. Red rubber is the worst (they use rubber for tires because they grip so well. Good for tires, not for catheters). Latex can be ok for some, but it too has a texture that will grip. Make sure your catheters are silicone (or at least silicone coated)! It is the smoothest material and will not grip as much.

Next, throw out every gel or water based lube you have (or you will be tempted to keep using them). Even lidocaine gel is no good.