www.incontinentsupport.org

Support for dealing with incontinence
It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 4:51 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:12 pm 

Hello. This is my first time posting on the board. I have a question that I would be very grateful for any answers or suggestions to. My bladder incontinence problems have recently got a lot worse, and it has taken a long long while to find a doctor who seemed willing to look into it. Finally I've been referred to a urologist but whilst I'm waiting for that, I'm trying to find what is the best kind of protection at the moment.

My first question is, if there is a diaper style pad (ie one with the fastenable sticky tapes at the sides) and another style pad (ie one you wear in your underwear but without tapes) which are sold as having the same absorbencies, is the diaper style pad always going to be the more leak-proof / secure etc? In some situations when I need maximum protection I feel I definitely need a diaper but in other situations when I might be able to manage with a bit less protection I'm wondering if it would be better to use a pad. But obviously the most important thing is not to risk leaks...