www.incontinentsupport.org

Support for dealing with incontinence
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:31 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Quality of life?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:41 am 

I am a student at De Montfort University in England. I have also been a carer for over two and a half years. I am doing a research study into how incontinence affects quality of life for sufferers.

Would anybody be willing to answer a few questions about how the condition has affected you?

Please post or contact me

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:25 pm 

Your best bet is to post the questions. Anyone who is willing can answer the ones they are comfortable with.

Post subject: Quality of Life
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 4:52 am 

Thankyou.

These are my questions:

1. Do you feel incontinence is freely spoken about? Or would you consider it a taboo?

2. What are the main physical side effects you suffer, from the condition, products, drugs etc?

3. How does it affect you socially?

4. Would you say your body image changed/distorted?

5. Has being incontinent affected your self esteem? If yes in what way?

6. What products do you use? Does effective management of the condition increase your self esteem?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:09 pm 
Admin

Hello KT, I will post my feelings on your questions.

1 – It is definitely not spoken freely of, for me anyhow. Even my doctor has not really plunged into an in depth conversation on the subject with me, he just knows I have urgency issues, and that I use protection to avoid wetting my pants, that is about it. There are not too many people I know in the general public that even mention it in conversation, even if discussing a medical problem that could be tied in to incontinence. Embarrassment, maybe? Lack of real, truthful knowledge on the subject? Possibly.